March Books

I’ve decided to do my Social Distancing posts every two days. Mostly because I’m tired, and emotional, and at times, it feels like I’m saying the same thing every time. I’m not, but I just need a break. I need to spend some nights working on other writing. I will write everyday, but I can’t blog about this time in my life every day. Today, I will do my March books round up.

I have read 26 books out of 40.

Get Your Sh*t Together: How to Stop Worrying About What You Should Do So You Can Finish What You Need to Do and Start Doing What You Want to Do (A No F*cks Given Guide) By Sarah Knight

The reason I should write about these books as soon as I finish them is simple: some books apparently mean nothing to me. I don’t remember anything about this book at all. Nothing. I’m not sure what kind of self help I got out of it because I don’t remember it. I just looked at the reviews, and they didn’t help me at all. I listened to it in my library app, and apparently got no help at all. I have nothing more to say about it. I mean – probably the title says it all.

The Unhoneymooners

by Christina Lauren

This book was sweet. I really enjoyed it. It was funny and cute. It had sweet moments and two likeable characters. It was predictable – you know who will end up together. It was also frustrating at times. I hate when the whole world turns against the main character when all she’s trying to do is tell the truth. I get annoyed when they have nobody in their corner.

All in all, it was a nice and easy ready, and I was happy with my choice.

There’s a Word for That

by Sloane Tanen

This book was supposed to be funny. I didn’t laugh that much. It was a good book, but nothing about it made me think it was hilarious. In fact there were a lot of characters that spent the whole novel struggling with mental illnesses. I enjoy reading books about people with real struggles. I enjoyed the book. Many of the characters were endearing. None of the situations were real life to me, but the characters were real to me. That’s not to say it’s not real for somebody. It reminded me of a book I read a long time ago about an obnoxious rich family that were living beyond their means. This was similar, but they weren’t quite as obnoxious. (I’m sorry I don’t remember the name of the novel, but it felt similar.) This novel had characters that were real in the way that they had flaws. They were awful at times, but you also saw that they loved one another. I think it’s important to see that nobody is perfect. The book did a good job sharing flaws along with the positive characteristics.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

by Abbi Waxman

This was my favourite March fiction read. Nina was brilliant. She made me laugh, and she was a character that reminded me of myself. (Not the brilliance. She was very smart. I am smart as well, but not in the same way. I can admit it – I am not as smart as she was.) She had anxiety, and would rather sit at home and read than do anything else. I loved it. She was awkward and endearing, but also strong and unafraid. Nina is used to her life as is, and follows a schedule always. She’s introduced to an entire family she didn’t know about, and (of course) meets a man. I listened to this book, but it’s another one that I would buy so I could read it again.

I Am Hutterite: The Fascinating True Story of a Young Woman’s Journey to Reclaim Her Heritage

by Mary-Ann Kirkby

I had heard a lot about this book, and I heard good things about it, but finally decided to listen to it on my library app. I’m glad I did. This book is based out of Manitoba, but because I am from Saskatchewan, I know a little about Hutterites. This book was an eye opener. The main character’s parents decided to leave the Hutterite Colony when she was a child. I enjoyed her take on life before and after. Years later, she still has so much affection for her Hutterite family. I’m glad I finally read it.

In Pieces

by Sally Field

Sally Field has lived a life. At many times, it was a sad life. She was abused as a child, and didn’t tell anybody about it until years later. She talks about the sexual abuse in a straight forward way, but it’s always hard to read. She was an amazing actress, but constantly put down and at times held back by the males in her life. Including Burt Reynolds. She writes the book knowing what she should have done differently at certain times. She writes the book as a 70 year old looking back at her life. I could tell she felt sad for her younger self, and she wished she could have changed a lot. My favourite parts were her description of being a mom. She lives with guilt for how she was a mom. She was hard on herself, just like all moms are. This book made me smile, and it made me cry. That’s what I need in a book.

Dear Girls: Intimate Tales, Untold Secrets, & Advice for Living Your Best Life

by Ali WongJustin Hakuta (Afterword)

This book wasn’t what I expected. I didn’t know as much about it going in. I thought maybe Dear Girls was to all girls, but Ali Wong is writing a story to her girls. Many of it seems inappropriate for daughters, but I guess when they are old enough, they won’t be shocked. Ali Wong doesn’t hide who she is, and that is wonderful. She’s hilarious, and she has worked hard to get where she is. She’s proud of her culture, and unafraid to call out racist behaviour. She’s also honest about how hard it is to parent while also doing her job. She chooses to do both, and is lucky enough to have the most supportive husband. They are a team, and it’s going to make her girls really happy to read about someday.

Year of Yes

by Shonda Rhimes

I thought this book was amazing. Shonda Rhimes started making changes in her life when she was already successful. Her year of yes wasn’t about success as much as becoming happy. This book was another example of a mother having to feel guilty because she can’t be two places at once. She misses her kid’s activities to work on her career, and she misses moments in her career to spend time with her kids. She spends a lot of time talking about the fact that she can’t do it alone, and that she will feel guilt for missing the moments. I am not a working mom, but I want to be someday. I want my son to see my following my dreams. Her kids get to see their amazing mother changing the world everyday. I honestly think all women should read this. It was so good. She is an inspiration. It helps if you’ve watched the shows that she creates, but it’s fine if you haven’t. She talks about the characters she’s created, and about her favourite lines, and you can see how much of herself she has put into her work. This is the best ‘self help’ book I’ve read. It’s not really a self help book, but that’s what made it better. She started saying yes, and stepped out of her comfort zone, and learned more about her life than she could have imagined. I loved it. I listened to this on my library app, but will be buying it.

Happy Reading!

©ErinLeahMcCrea All photos I share on my blogs are my own, please Ask Me For Permission Before Using Them

Leave a comment